Postcard from Provence

Provence

“Postcard from Provence”, Linda Beach, pastel 11.5×15.5

The Red Valerian plants caught my attention as I looked out over the view from the ruins of the chateau at Chateauneuf-du Pape in Provence. This painting is my first of the new year and decade. When I observed this scene last spring, and saw the red shutters and the red or rose flowers of the foreground, I knew that I must paint the image. I like the contrast of red and green which are complimentary colors. The arrangement of tile roofs as they go off in the distance towards the Rhone River also added interest.

Artist notes:
Sennelier La Carte card with various pastels (Rembrandt, Sennelier, Terry Ludwig, Unison), and Conte pastel pencils.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. mlwareart

     /  January 16, 2020

    Fantastic!Sent from my MetroPCS 4G LTE Android Device

    Reply

Leave a comment