Abundance

fountainsketch

Livermore Fountain, ink and watercolor sketch

livermorefountjpg

Early stage -Photo on location

There has been a drought in California. There has been a shortage of posts on this blog in addition to the severe lack of precipitation. Despite the drought, this fountain in the heart of downtown Livermore, California continues to put forth cascades of water. It once seemed like an excess when the average resident was going to great lengths to conserve the precious water. My worries were put at ease when I learned that the fountain used recycled water. The symbol of abundance in the Livermore Valley was a challenge to capture in this sketch. I see several errors in the structure of the trellis, but I tell myself that this is a sketch. The goal is not to make a completely accurate rendering, but rather capture the essence of the scene. I hope that was achieved.

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Very nice Linda. You are correct, sketches are just that. We use them for practice and to scout for a more finished work. It looks like a beautiful space.

    Reply
  2. Thank you. It is good practice, and I pushed myself with this complex structure. I would set the basis of the elliptical trellis first if I were to redo. Not having the training in architecture, it was difficult to for me to see.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

