The road not taken…

 
Image

Photo reference - Concannon vineyard

I based a painting on a vivid fall scene at nearby Concannon Vineyards.  I was attracted to the warm colors in the leaves on the foreground vines and also the patterns of the distant vineyards. The pastel painting was started as a demonstration piece at a local art gallery.  After spending several hours on the piece, I knew something wasn’t right.  My suspicions of a composition that wasn’t working were confirmed when I showed this work in progress to some artist friends.  The road created a roadblock in the scene. Back in the studio I eliminated the road that streaked across the painting.  Instead I created a pathway through the vines in the foreground and into the distance vineyard…Now I may enjoy a glass of Petit Syrah for which Concannon is famous.

"Late Harvest", pastel, 11 x 17

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

